Skip to content

This Just In – The Blumey Awards Winners and Photos From the Ceremony

May 21, 2012

The closing number of The Blumey Awards. Credit: Jessica Jarvis

Belk Theater pulsed with energy and hard work May 20 as 78 finalists competed in the inaugural Blumenthal Performing Arts High School Musical Theater Awards presented by Wells Fargo.

The Blumey Awards recognize excellence in high school musical theater in the Charlotte region.

South Point High School from Gaston County won the Wells Fargo Best Musical Award for their production of Jekyll & Hyde.  Kyle Conroy of Jay M. Robinson High School in Cabarrus County won Best Actor for his portrayal of “Seymour” in Little Shop of Horrors.  Taylor Neal of Cuthbertson High School in Union County won Best Actress for her portrayal of “Belle” in Beauty and the Beast.

Conroy and Neal will represent the Charlotte region on June 25 at the National High School Musical Theater Awards, also known as The Jimmys, at the Minksoff Theatre on Broadway.

Take a look below for photos from the ceremony.

“Congratulations to all the winners and the nominees at last night’s Blumey Awards Ceremony,” said Tom Gabbard, Blumenthal President.  “I’m so proud of the remarkable creative talent in our community.  The ceremony itself was a joy to watch and I’m glad the students had the opportunity to perform on the Belk Theater stage like our Broadway shows do and perform for a packed house.  These kids will have memories to last forever.”

Students from 16 different high schools in the Charlotte region were nominated for Blumey Awards in one of the 13 categories. Participating schools were in Cabarrus, Gaston, Mecklenburg and Union counties.  And on Sunday night, proud families, educators, friends and theaters fans attended The Blumey Awards, a black-tie event hosted by Maureen O’Boyle of WBTV.

This year’s winners for The Blumey Awards included:

  • Wells Fargo Best Musical
    South Point High School – Jekyll & Hyde
  • Best Actor
    Jay M. Robinson High School – Kyle Conroy as Seymour (Little Shop of Horrors)
  • Best Actress
    Cuthbertson High School – Taylor Neal as Belle (Beauty and the Beast)
  • Best Supporting Actor
    Jay M. Robinson High School – Matt Verner as Voice of Audrey II (Little Shop of Horrors)
  • Best Supporting Actress
    Charlotte Christian School – Emma VanDeVelde as Anita (West Side Story)
  • Best Featured Performer
    Northwest School of the Arts – Robert Briner as A-rab (West Side Story)
  • Best Overall Direction
    South Mecklenburg High School – Bye Bye Birdie
  • Best Ensemble/Chorus
    Charlotte Latin School – Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
  • Best Choreography Execution
    Northwest School of the Arts – West Side Story
  • Best Student Orchestra
    Hickory Ridge High School – Urinetown
  • Best Costume Creation
    Cuthbertson High School – Beauty and the Beast
  • Best Lighting Execution
    South Point High School – Jekyll & Hyde
  • Best Set Construction
    South Point High School – Jekyll & Hyde

Along with The Blumey Awards themselves, The Doctor Family Foundation awarded a $10,000 annually renewable scholarship to Charlotte Christian School’s Bethany Kinect and Northwest School of the Arts’ Lexie Wolfe during The Blumey Awards Ceremony.  A special scholarship committee chose these winners.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: